94th ANNUAL International Competition (2019)

The Print Center ANNUAL International Competition is one of the most prestigious and oldest juried exhibitions in the United States. The 94th ANNUAL features works by 35 of the finest contemporary artists using photography or printmaking as critical components in their works today.

The ANNUAL was juried by Charlotte Cotton, Curator-in-Residence at the California Museum of Photography, Riverside and Gretchen Wagner, Andrew W. Mellon Fellow for Prints, Drawings, and Photographs at the Saint Louis Art Museum. Cotton and Wagner reviewed over 2,500 images and videos submitted by 512 artists. Submissions came from 45 states and 29 countries worldwide. This online exhibition presents portfolios of the work of the 25 Semifinalists and 10 Finalists.

View the work of the Semifinalists and Finalists

More about the ANNUAL Competition

Gallery Plugin

Images left to right: Miguel A. Aragón, Young Sun Han and Ron Tarver


The Print Center was pleased to award over $8,000 in purchase, cash and material prizes, as well as three Solo Exhibitions. These award winners were selected from the group of 35 Finalists and Semifinalists. Congratulations to all of the artists selected!

Miguel A. Aragón (born Ciudad Juárez, México; lives Staten Island, NY), Young Sun Han (born Evanston, IL; lives Brooklyn, NY) and Ron Tarver (born Fort Gibson, OK; lives Philadelphia, PA) were awarded Solo Exhibitions at The Print Center (January 17 – March 13, 2020) along with accompanying honoraria.

Priya Kambli (born Mumbai, India; lives Kirksville, MO) was awarded the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts Purchase Award. The Stinnett Philadelphia Museum of Art Collection Award was awarded to Steph Foster (born Michigan; lives Philadelphia, PA).

The Callan/McNamara Award ($500) was awarded to Young Sun Han. Nadia Sablin (born Russia; lives New York) was awarded the Fish/Pearce Award ($500). The Print Center’s Honorary Council Award of Excellence ($100) was awarded to Guanyu Xu (born Beijing, China; lives Chicago, IL).

The Awagami Paper Award (100 sheets of Awagami Editioning Paper, valued at $500) was awarded to K MacNeil (born Asheville, NC; lives Buffalo, NY). The BOMB Magazine Award (three-year subscription valued at $84) was awarded to Bang Geul Han (born South Korea; lives Brooklyn, NY) and The Photo Review Award (one-year subscription valued at $50) was awarded to Marc Ohrem-Leclef (born Duesseldorf, Germany; lives Brooklyn, NY). Kat Richards (Philadelphia, PA) was awarded The Print Center Gallery Store Award. The Renaissance Graphics Arts Award (Gift Certificate for $100) was awarded to Elizabeth Corkery (born Sydney, Australia; lives Sacramento, CA). The Society for Photographic Education Award (One year, Regular Level Membership, valued at $125) was awarded to Jon Henry (born Queens, NY; lives Brooklyn, NY). The Trinity Framing Award (Gift Certificate for $100) was awarded to Roxana Azar (born Philadelphia, PA; lives Philadelphia).