93rd ANNUAL International Competition (2018)

The Print Center ANNUAL International Competition is one of the most prestigious and oldest juried exhibitions in the United States. The 93rd ANNUAL features works by 35 of the finest contemporary artists using photography or printmaking as critical components in their works today.

The ANNUAL was juried by José Diaz, Chief Curator at The Andy Warhol Museum, Pittsburgh and Lisa Sutcliffe, Herzfeld Curator of Photography and Media Arts at the Milwaukee Art Museum. Diaz and Sutcliffe reviewed over 2,200 images submitted by 456 artists. Submissions came from 44 states and 32 countries worldwide. This online exhibition presents portfolios of the work of the 25 Semifinalists and 10 Finalists.

View the work of the Semifinalists and Finalists

More about the ANNUAL Competition

Left to right: Rafael Soldi, Jason Urban & Leslie Mutchler and Chinn Wang


The Print Center was pleased to present over $8,200 in purchase, cash, material and exhibition awards. These award winners were selected from the group of 35 Finalists and Semifinalists. Congratulations to all of the artists selected!

Rafael Soldi (Seattle, WA), Jason Urban & Leslie Mutchler (Brooklyn, NY), and Chinn Wang (Boulder, CO) were awarded Solo Exhibitions at The Print Center (January 18 – March 30, 2019) along with accompanying honoraria.

The Stinnett Philadelphia Museum of Art Collection Award was awarded to Mark Rice (Philadelphia, PA). Rafael Soldi was awarded the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts Purchase Award.

The Print Center’s Honorary Council Award of Excellence ($100) was awarded to Ben Altman (Ithaca, NY). The Jacqueline L. Zemel Prize for Printmaking ($500) was awarded to Chinn Wang

Three Art in Print Awards (one-year digital subscriptions, valued at $38) were awarded to Briar Craig (Kelowna, British Columbia), Andy Mattern (Stillwater, OK) and Charles Beneke (Akron, OH). The Awagami Paper Award (100 sheets of Awagami Editioning Paper, valued at $500) was awarded to Candace Jensen (Putney, VT). The BOMB Magazine Award (three-year subscription valued at $72) was awarded to Leyla Cárdenas (Bogotá, Colombia) and The Photo Review Award (one-year subscription valued at $45) was awarded to Christine Elfman (Ithaca, NY). Jon Feinstein (Seattle, WA and New York, NY) was awarded The Print Center Gallery Store Award. The Renaissance Graphics Arts Award (Gift Certificate for $100) was awarded to Eszter Sziksz (Sarasota, FL). The Society for Photographic Education Award (One year, Regular Level Membership, valued at $125) was awarded to Kathleen Sharp (Atlanta, GA). The Trinity Framing Award (Gift Certificate for $100) was awarded to Gregory Paone (Philadelphia, PA).