92nd ANNUAL International Competition (2018)

The Print Center’s 92nd ANNUAL International Competition features works by 45 of the finest contemporary artists using Photography or Printmaking as critical components in their works today. This year the competition was juried by Keliy Anderson-Staley, Assistant Professor of Photography and Digital Media at the University of Houston and Katherine Ware, Curator of Photography at the New Mexico Museum of Art, Santa Fe. The Print Center’s ANNUAL is one of the most prestigious and oldest juried exhibitions in the United States. This online exhibition presents portfolios of the work of the 35 semi-finalists and 10 finalists. It provides a unique opportunity to view the work of local, national and international artists in a forum which emphasizes individual talent and expressiveness rather than a specific exhibition topic. Anderson-Staley and Ware reviewed over 2,100 images submitted by 420 artists. Daniel W. Coburn, Julie Anne Greenberg and Jacob Koestler were selected for Solo Exhibitions, on view at The Print Center May 18 – August 4, 2018.

Daniel W. Coburn, Untitled, 2017

Julie Anne Greenberg, System IX Hermine; “Labor Day Weekend Worry”, 2017







Jacob Koestler, My Copy of The Emigrants, 2017



For a video of the 92nd ANNUAL Online Exhibition click here.


Learn More about the Jurors Here

The Print Center was pleased to present $5,000 in purchase, cash, material and exhibition awards. These were given to 17 artists drawn from the group of 45 Finalists and Semifinalists from across North America and the world, from Australia and New Zealand to France and Lithuania. Congratulations to these creators of an outstanding selection of work which uses Photography and Printmaking as critical components. The artists were selected by our excellent jurors Katherine Ware, Curator of Photography, New Mexico Museum of Art, Santa Fe and Keliy Anderson-Staley, Assistant Professor of Photography and Digital Media at the University of Houston, Texas.

Daniel Coburn (Lawrence, KS or Sydney, Australia), Julie Anne Greenberg (Raleigh, NC),  and Jacob Koestler (Cleveland, OH) received Solo Exhibitions at The Print Center (May 18 – August 4, 2018). The Stinnett Philadelphia Museum of Art Collection Award was awarded to Emma Ressel (Brooklyn, NY). The Michener Art Museum Photography Patrons Circle Purchase Prize was awarded to Rita Bernstein (Philadelphia, PA).

The Print Center’s Honorary Council Award of Excellence ($100) was awarded to Odette England (Providence, RI). The Callan/McNamara Award ($500) was awarded Akai Chew (Launceston, Australia), The Fish/Pearce Award ($500) was awarded to Rita Bernstein (Philadelphia, PA). The Renaissance Graphic Arts Award ($100 gift certificate) was awarded to Althea Murphy-Price (Bloomington, IN). The Society for Photographic Education Award ($125 membership) was awarded to Adam Lampton (South Portland, ME) and the Trinity Framing Award ($100 gift certificate) was awarded to Jan Almquist (Philadelphia, PA).

The Awagami Paper Award (100 sheets of Awagami Editioning Paper, $500) was awarded to Joan Wadleigh Curran. Three Art in Print Awards (one-year digital subscriptions) were awarded to Mark Graver (Northland, New Zealand), Christopher Hartshorne (Bellingham, WA) and Emma Nishimura (Toronto, Canada). The BOMB Magazine Award (three-year subscription) was awarded to Nicholas H. Ruth (Rochester, NY) and The Photo Review Award (one-year subscription) was awarded to Claire A. Warden (Phoenix, AZ). Aaron Rothman (Phoenix, AZ) was awarded The Print Center Gallery Store Award.



Past Competitions: 91st90th89th88th, 87th, 86th
Information on competitions before 2012 can be found here, and can be searched by year.