90th Annual International Competition (2016)

The Print Center’s 90th Annual International Competition features works by 42 of the finest contemporary artists using Photography or Printmaking as critical components in their works today. This year the competition was juried by Alex Klein, Dorothy and Stephen R. Weber Curator, Institute of Contemporary Art, Philadelphia and Los Angeles-based artist Mungo Thomson. The Print Center’s Annual International Competition is one of the most prestigious and oldest juried exhibitions in the United States. This online exhibition presents portfolios of the work of the 31 semi-finalists and 11 finalists. It provides a unique opportunity to view the work of local, national and international artists in a forum which emphasizes individual talent and expressiveness rather than a specific exhibition topic. Klein and Thomson reviewed over 2,000 images submitted by 400 artists. Jeffrey Dell, Andrew Fillmore, and Leah Mackin were selected for Solo Exhibitions, which were on view May 6 – August 6, 2016.










Jeffrey Dell, Flying Stack, 2015

Bathroom Apple, 2015









Andrew Fillmore, Bathroom Apple, 2015

Held, 2016









Leah Mackin, Held, 2016



We were pleased to present over $2,000 in purchase, cash, material and exhibition awards to thirteen artists and congratulate all the recipients. Jeffrey Dell (San Marcos, TX), Andrew Fillmore (New York, NY) and Leah Mackin (Pittsburgh, PA) received Solo Exhibitions at The Print Center (May 6 – August 6, 2016). The Philadelphia Museum of Art Collection Award was awarded to Jennifer Little (Oakland, CA).

The Callan/McNamara Award ($500) was awarded to Peter Holzhauer (Los Angeles, CA) and The Fish/Pearce Award ($500) was awarded to Lori Kella (Cleveland, OH). The Print Center’s Honorary Council Award of Excellence ($100) was awarded to Jeffrey Dell (San Marcos, TX).

The Artist & Craftsman Award ($100 gift certificate) was awarded to Leah Mackin (Pittsburgh, PA) and The Renaissance Graphic Arts Award ($100 gift certificate) was granted to Glen Baldridge (Brooklyn, NY). The Silicon – Fine Art Prints Award ($250 gift certificate) was awarded to Ceaphas Stubbs (Williamsport, PA) and The Trinity Framing ($100 gift certificate) was awarded to CJ Harker (Philadelphia, PA).

Three one-year digital subscriptions to Art in Print were awarded to Matthew CummingsSean P. Morrissey and Yoonmi Nam and The Photo Review Award (1 year subscription) was awarded to Theo Mullen (Charlottesville, VA).



Past Competitions:  89th88th, 87th, 86th
Information on competitions before 2012 can be found here, and can be searched by year.